Boka de Banjul – Lu Jot Yomb (CD)


‘Lu Jot Yomb’ – Boka de Banjul was released April 12th, 2018.

Track listing:

01. The Leaders
02. Yai Jubakh
03. A de Ete
04. How I Love You
05. Break the Chain
06. Moytouleen
07. Gambia
08. Alall
09. Wooma

In 1999 Ebou Gaye Mada, originally from the Gambia, started the group Boka de Banjul from jam sessions with various musicians. Boka Halat means “joined ideas’ in Wolof. The combination of the various band members, their ideas, their musical background and their shared passion for music became the basis of a platform for positive energy.

Now based in the Dutch city of Rotterdam, Boka de Banjul combines the Gambian Mbalax with music from all over the world like jazz, afrobeat, reggae and more. Ebou and his band play with such passion, experience and love for music that the viewer is included in the rhythms and melodies through their infectious performance. Boka de Banjul is: Ebou Gaye Mada (percussion, vocals), Hassan Ait-Moumad (guitar), Frank Jonas (guitar), Merijn v.d. Wijdeven (bass), Emilie Cleuver (percussion), Sarah van Impe (percussion) and Greg Smith (drums).

catalogue number: MINK0018